PK Halpz deh Prizen Kittehs

Prysma-Kitteh originally posted this in Miz Fooftaylz Tea Ruum.

Ohai!!!

We survived our epic journey with a vanload of cats!

We got our 7 overnight guests loaded in, and headed off to pick up the first pair that were already spirited out, added them in with a little bit of skilled Tetris-style rearranging, and off we went to pick up the second pair — eleven cats in all. Everyone was pretty quiet, actually, either too scared to yell (cats are predators, but they’re small ones, and too smart to tell the world they might be vulnerable) or they fell asleep.

Got to the clinic, got them all checked in. Since they knew we were coming, they actually scheduled a relatively light day, only 4 dogs ahead of our bunch. Once they got to the cats, we got to go back to the surgical area, since my friend used to work there, and she showed me all around — it was fascinating. She took me to the SPCA next door, too, and oh, man, that’s enough to make me want to move there and swear I’ll work there for life, all these big bright rooms, most of them colony rooms, and no horrible little steel cages at all.

The feral female was pregnant, which we didn’t know until they were actually doing the surgery. But, well, what would life have been for those four kittens if they’d been born? *sigh* Two of the boys, orange brothers, both had a problem called cryptorchidism, which means one testicle didn’t descend — it would have cost $3-400 for a regular vet to do each of them, since the vet had to go looking for the second one. It’s something that happens in inbred populations.

We got out a little earlier than we expected, and headed for home. The orange brothers have a country home together as outdoor mousers, with a warm house in a shed and food and care. We got the other two pairs dropped off at their respective homes, then came home and collapsed. Total time on the road: 4am until 9pm roughly.

But hey, I think my new meds must be working, ’cause I actually woke up at 8am reasonably conscious, instead of being a zombie today like I actually expected!!

My friend’s going to pick me up in a while, we’ll go see how our five guests are doing, clean their litter and feed them, and I want to work on socializing them a bit while I have them. (Treats, gushifud, catnip, lots of patience…)

I’ve got pictures of three of them, the less-feral ones.

Boy Kitteh:

Gurl Kitteh #1:

Gurl Kitteh #2:

Keep the beems and good wishes coming, that everyone heals up with no complications so we don’t have to haul them all the way back to Newmarket to get looked at!!! These poor guys have been through enough, they deserve some peace now!!!

10 thoughts on “PK Halpz deh Prizen Kittehs

  1. Oh PK, what a wonderful thing you did for these babies. Continued beems and prayers for you, your friends and kitty’s!!

  2. These are from our first visit to clean/feed/look after them. Two (the boy and the second girl above) wanted reassurance so badly I almost cried for them. First girl is wilder, and so scared we can’t touch her; ditto for the male feral, although the female feral will allow me to touch her a little.

    Little boy
    Second girl

    I want so much for them to find a good, patient, loving home where they can blossom into the loving cats I can see under the fear….

  3. These are from our first visit to clean/feed/look after them. Two (the boy and the second girl above) wanted reassurance so badly I almost cried for them. First girl is wilder, and so scared we can’t touch her; ditto for the male feral, although the female feral will allow me to touch her a little.

    h ttp://prysmcat.org/pics/bathferals/one-cuddle.jpg (Little boy)
    h ttp://prysmcat.org/pics/bathferals/three-cuddle.jpg (Second girl)

    I want so much for them to find a good, patient, loving home where they can blossom into the loving cats I can see under the fear….

  4. Oh PK – I have such admiration for you and your group for what they have done and will do. Also for the inmates at the prison for what they are willing to do. Such love you all have for the kittehs. PK – those wild kittehs know what you are doing, it’s just years of having to fight for their lives that won’t let them trust anyone yet. But you’ve given them a chance for a beautiful life. Thank you so much. My heart is happy.

  5. I hope you have continued good luck, you’re a real good gal in my book! {{{{{{{{{SCARED KITTIES and PK}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

  6. wow – ai has a speechliss. dis is jsut teh OSSIM – yu has gibbed dees kittehs a chans adn dat is jsut sew amasing. yu ar such a wunnermus person adn teh whirld is a bedder plas becos uf yu {{{{{PK}}}}}

Leave a Reply

