Sunny Will go Over dhe Bridge Friday

Here am deh latest nooz frum KCTailkinker:

Dear Cheezfrens,
Sunny has gotten worse again but I got at least a few days. I cannot watch him any more not eating and being so weak. I have an appointment on Friday at 4pm. Chuck will take Sunny and me to the Heartland SPCA. Since my vet retired and I have financial constraints, Heartland will help me. They asked if I would go this afternoon but I had a class but more importantly, I am not ready. Sunny may be ready but I am not. However, I understand that he mustn’t suffer and I will not let him suffer. My heart is not in this at all. He is the last tie to my Mother. Sooty, his brother, went over the bridge on 2009. Sunny will see him again and  also my mom and my dad, Mama Dofy and Daddy Jack. Pyewacket will be sad as well, since Sunny took care of her as his baby girl. Inky and Sunny were the “Second-Hand Lions.” Two batchelor cats who had a baby girl foisted on them by me. One loved playing with Pye and Sunny was the “Mom” of the older cats. I will miss him but I now worry so much if he is suffering, is he sleeping OK, is he hungry but doesn’t care because of his problems. I check to see if he is breathing each time I look at him.
God has watched over us. Human and animal. I’ve always told folks that if God had no humor then why did he create cats and kittens. You know the passage of the Bible that God watches over the sparrow. So if he watches over such little birds then he watches even larger creatures, like cats. So many of the therapists I have had for the last 3 years loved him and some named him as “Loverboy.” All because he is a sweet cat and how he would assist with my therapy.
I have made the appointment and I explained to them what I wanted to do for Sunny. For those of you, his real name was Sunkist and named by my dad. Sunny was apt for him as a sunny little character. He would cry though when Mom had to go to the hospital a few times before I moved in to take care of Mom. As time went on, I assumed all care for my Inky and Mom’s Sunny and Sooty. When Mom had to go to the nursing home, I told Mom that I would do my best to take care of Sunny and Sooty. So, I now believe the best way I can take care of Sunny is to take him so he can have some relief and I can have someone gently go over the bridge.
My eyes…they leak. I have been crying all week. I thought he would have passed last Saturday night but then I had a small miracle for a short reprieve but now it will be time on Friday.
Your prayers, beams and thoughts are still needed as I do the hardest thing I can do since I had taken Mom to the nursing home. You are the best Cheezfrens and are the best friends ever!
Thank you so much!
Hedbonks & purrs!

Carol/KCT

44 thoughts on “Sunny Will go Over dhe Bridge Friday

  1. Dear KTC, my heart breaks with yours. You are doing the most difficult, most unselfish thing you can by giving Sunny release from his suffering. His love for you and yours for him will remain as a bright moment in your life. You may feel like you will never smile again, but eventually the happy memories will help ease the ache in your heart.
    Lubs and godspeed to Sunkist!
    COL

  2. Dear KCT, my eyes are leaking and my heart is crumbling for and for Sunny but he needs to go and you know him the best. I will be thinking of you on Friday and sending you beems and prayers for strength. Mareelouise.

  3. Sweet KCT — sometimes a heart must hurt to show how much you can love — My prayers go with you when Sunny crosses the bridge —- he will find many friends to keep himcompany there – and peace and a high hill to watch over his friends still here .. Peaceful blessings ….

  4. Dear KCT, You have been through so much, but let me tell you how warm and thoughtful I think you are. Your description of your bachelor boys reminded me of a couple of “uncles” I had in the 90’s. They loved all my fosters so, they would gently tap them when they were sleeping hoping to wake them up again. (uncle Petey and uncle Ormond) God’s got lots of humor. Sunny sounds like the best kind of loverboy! Oh, the sweetness of a great kitteh. Beams to you and Sunkist. {{{{{{KCT and Sunny}}}}}}

  5. Go well, sweet Sunny! May your sun ever shine down on dear KCT and warm her heart with your memory.
    {{{{{{{{{{{Carol}}}}}}}}}}}

  6. Oh Carol, I am so sorry to hear you are suffering so. Sunny is so very lucky to have had you in his life. You are doing the best thing for him, ending his suffering so he can be pain free again as he goes over the bridge. My thoughts and prayers are with you always as you and Sunny take on this journey together, and then as he continues. Many Blessings.

  7. {{{{{{{{{{{{{{KCT and Sunny}}}}}}}}}}}}}} Wishing Sunny a painless journey, and wishing there were a way to lessen your pain, Carol, but knowing that there is not. What you are doing for Sunny is the finest gift you can give him having graced your life with so much joy. My eyes leak for you both.

  8. we knoes dat werds dont rly werk here. dis be da hardest part ob being a pet partner, gibing da last gift of peaceful passage in eggschange fur all da laffs and giggles and luff dey done giben us.

    we tink dey offen gib us a few days ob yung and healfty, bof lookin furward to how dey’ll be again, once at da bridge, but even more, to remind us of all we’z shared — dey not want us to be sad, and want to leeve da happy stuff up front.

    GLOW for himz gentle journey, and to heal yur heart,

  9. KCT, I know your pain as I have had many times like this in my life. The latest time was when I lost my old man, Harry, this past September. He was almost 22. I took him to a vet that I have known for quite a while, and I held him in my arms as he crossed the bridge. It was the last good deed that I could do for him. He gave me so much love in his 22 years, and I miss him and will miss him always.
    I have many other stories like Harry’s, but I certainly won’t tell you all of them. I just want you to know that while this is one of the hardest things you will ever do, hope you take comfort in knowing that Sunny will never again have any pain or discomfort, and he will happily play with your mom and dad, and all his fur-brothers and sisters as he waits for you to join him in the meadow on the other side of the rainbow bridge.

    I can only offer you virtual hugs, and I am sending all of them, as you make this journey with Sunny.

    {{{{{{{{{{KCT and Family}}}}}}}}}}

    {{{{{{{{{{Sunny}}}}}}}}}}

    Teresa

  10. {{{{{KCT & Sunny}}}}} My heart is breaking and my eyes are so leaky I almost can’t see to type these words. I’m so sad you have to go through this and I remember all the kittehs I’ve “lost” and those yet to come. Anyone else who has “lost” a furbeebeh knows the heartache and holes in our hearts that will be there for a long time. Even when we remember them, there’s happiness and grief at the same time. As long as we remember them, they aren’t really gone. It’s just the way we’re made.

  11. {{{{{{{{KCT adn Sunny}}}}}}}

    A paraphrase from the Book of Common Prayer:

    Depart, O Soul, out of this world;
    In the Name of the One who created and sanctifies you,
    May your rest be this day in peace, and your dwelling place in the Paradise of God.

    KCT, I’m so sorry. It is so hard that this last, blessed gift we can give them is so painful to give. Think of Sunny running well and strong in the meadow, and know that you are doing for him the kindest and most loving thing possible. He will wait for you in the meadow where all is peace, except for the eternal lighthearted argument among all the cats and dogs as to who has the best mom or dad… The bond between you will never be broken.

    I and my leaky eyes grieve with you, dear friend.

  12. AI’Ve alertededed awl of my past petz dat dere bii anodder wun coming to teh bridgj.

    Mai iis r leeking raight nao. AI purray dat u hazza peace whenz u let himz go.

    {{{{{KCT & Sunny}}}}}

  13. KCT and Sunny–my heart aches for you and I’mputting Sunny in prayer and sending positive beams for a peaceful passing. You are doing what is kindest for him, and if he could, he would lick your hand in gratitude for stopping the suffering. He will enjoy the rainbow bridge meadow, and you will grieve, but someday you’ll be able to look back at all the positive memories and smile.
    {{{{{{Carol and Sunny}}}}}

  14. KCT, mai hart is wif yoo in this diffykult task. We just had to help our goggie, Casey, deh beyootiful Corgi ovur deh bridje yesturday. It wuz deh hardest fing we have evur had to do, but it wuz deh rite fing. Ai pray yoo will find strengfs in deh happy memriez ob deh past, as ai am trying to do as well. Mai hart iz wif yoo and hugs are being sent yur way {{{{{{{{{{{{KCT & Sunny }}}}}}}}}}}}}

  15. aisle b thinkin of u an sunny awl day tumorrow. mai hart kittehz wil welkome sunny with hedbonkz an likz an sniffz. p.j. an jessica an ai hope u will take comfort from the love your cheezefrendz feel 4 u an sunny. ai iz sew sorri. love from noodle

  16. I am speechless, dearest. GOD be with you and give you the strength and peace you will need to see this through.
    All my love—janey

  17. Mai eis, dey leek profyooslee! Ai prittee shur dis wuz poasted beefore, butt (!) iz soe beeyootiful, it bares reepeetin. Mai fawts R wif yu, mai fren.
    {{{{{KCT, Sunny & famblee}}}}}

    “I am standing upon the seashore. A ship at my side spreads her white sails to the morning breeze and starts for the blue ocean. She is an object of beauty and strength. I stand and watch her until at length she hangs like a speck of white cloud just where the sea and sky come to mingle with each other.
    Then someone at my side says, “There, she is gone!”
    “Gone where?”
    Gone from my sight. That is all. She is just as large in mast and hull and spar as she was when she left my side and she is just as able to bear her load of living freight to her destined port.
    Her diminished size is in me, not in her. And just at the moment when someone at my side says, “There, she is gone!” there are other eyes watching her coming, and other voices ready to take up the glad shout: “Here, she comes!”
    And that is dying.”
    Henry Van Dyke

  18. Wut a wundermous community of cheezpeeps we have. KCT you will not be alone tomorrow, you will have a whirled of cheezfriends there wif you the whole tiem. {{{{{{{KCT & fur babies}}}}}}}}}

  19. Let this crossing be gentle and may Sunny arrive in the meadow young and strong and full of life. I will be holding you in my heart, Carol and Sunny. Godspeed.
    ((((((((((((Carol and Sunny))))))))))))))

  20. What everyone else has offered, I echo with understanding and deepest sympathy. Holding you in my heart, and in The Light. Go well, sweet Sunny, with many blessings.
    {{{{{{{{{{KCT and Inky}}}}}}}}}}

  21. KCT, we are all hurting on your behalf. Keep in mind that Sunkist will be free of pain, young, healthy and able to play again with those who have gone before. My eyes leak profusely.{{{{{KCT and Sunny}}}}}

  22. Mai deer cheezfrens, on Fried egg, Sunny went over the bridge and not alone. Cattails came with me. The vet looked over and examined Sunny. She said that Sunny is ready to go over the bridge. The vet and the vet tech put a clean floofy towel to put under Sunny. She then gave Sunny a sedative and stroked Sunny. After a period of time, she put in another injection which cause Sunny’s heart to stop. He was just as if he went to sleep. It was gentle and he left this world quietly and peaceablly. When he woke up, he saw all the cats and dogs who have go before. He saw my Mom, Mama Dofy and my Dad, Daddy Jack, and he saw his brother Sooty. I thank all for your prayers, your thoughts and your beams. All of that made it so that Sunny could go gently and peacefully. You are all the most best friends. Thank you!

    • Carol- Thank you for sharing this news with us, who have been thinking of you and your dear Sunny. I have not been a part of your cheese-peep/lolcat community as long as the others here, nor been as regular a participant. But I am always impressed at how you all come together to support each other in sad and difficult times.

      You have shown such courage in sharing your reports and emotions with us, and in helping release Sunny from his pain. {{{{{KCT/Carol}}}}}

      • Ohai Lupinssupins. New or old, all cheezfrends are dear and welcome here. Whether you comment a little or a lot, your presence adds love and warmth to our community.
        Purrs n hedbonks,
        Cattails

  23. Oh Carol, what a wonderful peaceful way for Sunny to go home again. My heart is with you, and many hugs and blessings to you while you grieve for such a wonderful friend.

    • t’anks fur lubbing sunny so much while he were here, and fur helping him make himz journey surrounded by warmfth and kindness and peeps who cared for him (at da vet, and in yur wider community.)

      fly carefully, sunny–dems wings are still new, aftpurr all.

  24. {{{{{{{Carol and Sunny}}}}}}}
    *wipez leeky iis* Fan q, Carol, fur sharon ur storee uv Sunny (nd Sooty nd yur unkels, tu). Ai nose…haz had tu dew dis a phew timez myself. (Ai magine just abawt ebberywun heer haz). Hopez u receevz mai lubs, hugz, schmooz nd beemz being sent tu u todai nd ebbery dai u needz dem.

Leave a Reply

