Cheezland Submissions

Important message from Prysma:

Ohai, guys!

Over the holidays, I went through the lol submissions I’ve gotten and cleaned up a bit and rearranged a bit of the sorting and all that kind of stuff. And I noticed something in the process.

The number of submissions I’m getting is dropping. So is the range of different people sending me lols.

We use 42 lols per week (plus 7 caption-me pics pulled from the gallery (and I’m not getting many new gallery pics either) plus 7 I find on Wiki Commons or Flickr). But I doubt I’m getting more than 20 lols coming in a week.

Breakdown of my current supply looks like this right now (with less than a dozen single pics in my email that haven’t been counted, and keep in mind that every day these numbers change, but you get the idea):

50 or more lols each: 3 peeps, who basically cleaned out or gave me permission to clean out their large collection at DOP
21-30 lols: 2 peeps
11-20 lols: 3 peeps
1-10 lols: 12 peeps (some of whom consistently send me one or two at a time)
There are about another 12 or 15 peeps who send me a few lols here and there and could easily be in that 1-10 lols total (and might be, if I checked my email right this minute)

That adds up to slightly over 300 lols, half of them by the same three people. As I said, maybe 20 come in on a good week, and we use 42. You do the math.

I’m trying to keep who has the FP as varied as I can. You might have noticed that lols made from another Cheezpeep’s gallery pics, or one’s own, tend to get the 15:00 and 18:00 spots when traffic is a bit higher, but otherwise I’m trying keep the times varied as well so no one’s lols are always in the same time slot.

But, basically – at the current rate I’m going to run out of lols to post.

If Cheezland is going to continue the way it is, I really need not only more lols, but lols from people who aren’t currently sending me lols.

“But I’m no good at making lols!” I can hear people crying out. I sympathize, I often find it hard, too… but sometimes one just strikes me when I see a pic. There’s nothing to be scared of, this is about the friendliest and most receptive audience in the world. (Hey, CatBurgh, gonna use you as an example – the lols of various inanimate objects, like the froot king, arrived with a note that I probably wouldn’t want to use them. They’ve all been hits. You just never know….) At the top of the Cheezland.org page there’s a file on how to find pics to caption. Info on how to send them in is up there too. You don’t have to have ever made a single comment. We’ve had lurkers send lols before – and sometimes start getting involved as a result, or sometimes not, either is fine.

If you send it, I’ll almost certainly use it. I’m trying very hard to use as many as I can that come in. A few have been rejected as excessively obscure, a few because they made the caretroll in me cringe for either human or animal reasons, a few because they were just impossible to read, but in every case I’ve gone back a couple of times to look again and a few times have decided I shouldn’t have pulled it out of the running. In well over 1000 lols, there are maybe 20 that have been and stay in that category.

There’s one other reason I’ll reject lols: source. I have a folder of over 100 lols that are from questionable sources that I need to check on before I can use them. If you think you should be on the list up there with a lot more, then probably a bunch of yours are in there (just because you have a source doesn’t automatically mean the source is okay with it being used). But that makes very little difference overall, because mostly that’s the same 3 or 4 people, and some coming from each are fine to use. The ones in that folder aren’t rejected, but they ARE in limbo; when I have time I check on a couple through Google’s photo search, but that’s irregular, life being what it is. I’ve made a major exception for pics found on DOP because if I don’t, I might as well close Cheezland down! The source issue has been thrashed out before, I don’t want to get into it again.

Cheezland is By the Cheezpeeps, For the Cheezpeeps. That means ALL the Cheezpeeps. If you’re commenting, lurking, sending lols or gallery pics, whatever, Cheezland is yours. We’ve been here and going strong for five months, let’s keep it that way.

One thought on “Cheezland Submissions

Leave a Reply

